॥ શ્રી સ્વામિનારાયણો વિજયતે ॥


Spiritual Discourses

by Bhagwan Swaminarayan

Gadhada III-20

‘Swabhāv’, ‘Prakruti’ and ‘Vāsanā’

On the night of Shrāvan vadi Amās, Samvat 1884 [22 August 1827], Swāmi Shri Sahajānandji Mahārāj was sitting in His residence in Dādā Khāchar’s darbār in Gadhadā. He was dressed entirely in white clothes. At that time, an assembly of sādhus as well as devotees from various places had gathered before Him.

Thereupon Dinānāth Bhatt asked a question: “Mahārāj, kāl is the power of God, and karma refers to the actions performed by the jiva. But what exactly is ‘swabhāv’?”

Shriji Mahārāj explained, “The karmas that the jiva has performed during past lives have fully ripened and have become assimilated with the jiva. Just as fire ‘enters’ iron, similarly, those karmas have ripened and have become one with the jiva. It is those karmas that are known as ‘swabhāv’, or ‘vāsanā’, or ‘prakruti’.”

Muktānand Swāmi then asked, “Mahārāj, You call the karmas which have become assimilated with the jiva, ‘swabhāv’ or ‘vāsanā’. But how does one eradicate ‘vāsanā’?”

Shriji Mahārāj replied, “It appears that the only means to do so is by performing the bhakti of Shri Krishna Bhagwān, coupled with the realization of one’s self as the ātmā. If one offers bhakti to Shri Krishna Bhagwān without ātmā-realization, then just as one has love for God, one will also develop love for other material objects. Therefore, bhakti accompanied by ātmā-realization is the only means to eradicate ‘vāsanā’. However, even one who has ātmā-realization may be disturbed by adverse circumstances, just like an ignorant person. But such disturbances do not last long.”

Vachanamrut ॥ 20 ॥ 243 ॥

* * *

This Vachanamrut took place ago.

Prakaran Gadhada I (78) Sarangpur (18) Kariyani (12) Loya (18) Panchala (7) Gadhada II (67) Vartal (20) Amdavad (3) Gadhada III (39) Bhugol-Khagol Additional (11) Additional Info Vachanamrut Study People in the Vachanamrut Vachanamrut Introduction Vachanamrut Principles Vachanamrut Preface Pramukh Swami Maharaj’s Blessings Vachanamrut Calendar Paratharo 4: Auspicious Marks Paratharo 5: Daily Routine Appendices

Type: Keywords Exact phrase