॥ શ્રી સ્વામિનારાયણો વિજયતે ॥


Spiritual Discourses

by Bhagwan Swaminarayan


How Can One Experience the Nirgun Bliss of God?

On Posh sudi 8, Samvat 1882 [16 January 1826], Swāmi Shri Sahajānandji Mahārāj was sitting on a cushion with a cylindrical pillow that had been placed on a dais in front of the mandir of Shri Lakshminārāyan in Vartāl. He was dressed entirely in white clothes. At that time, an assembly of munis as well as devotees from various places had gathered before Him.

Then Shriji Mahārāj asked the munis, “Just as one can experience the three kinds of māyik pleasures - rājasik, tāmasik and sāttvik - in the three states, how can one experience the nirgun bliss of God?”

All of the munis conferred amongst themselves in order to answer the question, but they were unable to do so satisfactorily.

Thereupon Shriji Mahārāj said, “Suppose there is ākāsh alone, without the other four bhuts - pruthvi, jal, etc. Also, suppose that in that ākāsh there are as many moons as there are stars. Then, the intensity of that light would be equal to the intensity of the divine light of Chidākāsh. The form of God is always seated at the center of that Chidākāsh.

“When one attains samādhi of that form, then even if one experiences it for only a moment, the person who is engaged in worship feels, ‘I’ve enjoyed the bliss of God in samādhi for thousands of years.’ This is how one experiences the nirgun bliss of God’s form. On the other hand, even if one indulges in māyik pleasures for a long time, ultimately one feels as if it was momentary. Therefore, the nirgun bliss of God is eternal and imperishable, whereas the māyik pleasures are perishable.”

Vachanamrut ॥ 9 ॥ 209 ॥

* * *

This Vachanamrut took place ago.

Prakaran Gadhada I (78) Sarangpur (18) Kariyani (12) Loya (18) Panchala (7) Gadhada II (67) Vartal (20) Amdavad (3) Gadhada III (39) Bhugol-Khagol Additional (11) Additional Info Vachanamrut Study People in the Vachanamrut Vachanamrut Introduction Vachanamrut Principles Vachanamrut Preface Pramukh Swami Maharaj’s Blessings Vachanamrut Calendar Paratharo 4: Auspicious Marks Paratharo 5: Daily Routine Appendices

Type: Keywords Exact phrase